Our history


Samusocial International implemented two exploratory missions in Egypt in 2006 on the situation of street children in Cairo and on the actions that were already implemented to protect them. These missions concluded that even though many NGOs were working in this field, Cairo encountered a high population of children and youth spending time in the street, working, living on their own or with their families, and that the needs of these children were not fully covered.
An expatriate staff was recruited in April 2007 and trained by Samusocial International, notably on intervention with homeless children and youth according to Samusocial’s methodology. An office was opened in Cairo, named Samusocial International Egypte (SSIEG) and the phase of project definition was carried out. SSIEG obtained a 3-year permit as an International NGO from Egyptian authorities in April 2008. The local staff could then be hired and the first activities started for street children and youth.
Since then, Samusocial International has ensured continuous intervention with homeless children and youth. Today it is recognised as an actor of care for homeless children and youth, both from Egyptian authorities and civil society organizations and from the children and youth themselves. This recognition has enabled the organisation to maintain its activity in the country in spite of the political and social movements, and to renew its permit every 3 year as an international NGO.

® samusocial International | Imprint | Contact us | Webdesign : OOBSTUDIO d'après maquette originale de Limbus Studio

Notre histoire

Le Samusocial International a mis en œuvre deux missions exploratoires en Égypte en 2006 sur la situation des enfants des rues au Caire et sur les actions déjà mises en œuvre pour les protéger. Ces missions ont conclu que même si de nombreuses ONG travaillaient dans ce domaine, le Caire compte une forte population d’enfants et de jeunes qui vivent dans la rue, travaillant en rue ou avec leur famille et que les besoins de ces enfants n’étaient pas pleinement satisfaits couvert.
Un personnel expatrié a été recruté en avril 2007 et formé par Samusocial International, notamment sur l’intervention auprès des enfants et des jeunes sans-abri selon la méthodologie de Samusocial. Un bureau a été ouvert au Caire, appelé Samusocial International Egypte (SSIEG) et la phase de définition du projet a été réalisée. SSIEG a obtenu un permis de trois ans en tant qu’ONG internationale auprès des autorités égyptiennes en avril 2008. Ce qui a permis ensuite d’embaucher le personnel local et de commencer les premières activités pour les enfants et les jeunes de la rue.
Depuis, Samusocial International a assuré une intervention continue auprès des enfants et des jeunes sans-abri. Aujourd’hui, il est reconnu comme un acteur de la prise en charge des enfants et des jeunes sans-abri, tant des autorités égyptiennes et des organisations de la société civile que des enfants et des jeunes eux-mêmes. Cette reconnaissance a permis à l’organisation de maintenir son activité dans le pays malgré les mouvements politiques et sociaux et de renouveler son permis tous les 3 ans en tant qu’ONG internationale.

® samusocial International | Mentions légales | Contact | Webdesign : OOBSTUDIO d'après maquette originale de Limbus Studio